Thursday, 16 August 2018
Latest news
Main » Virat Kohli named ICC world cricketer of the year

Virat Kohli named ICC world cricketer of the year

20 January 2018

"It's a great honour to win the Test Player of the Year award", said Smith after bagging the title. He plundered 1818 ODI runs including seven centuries at a stunning average of 82.63 while collecting 299 runs in T20Is with a blistering strike rate of 153.

Three White Ferns were recognised in the ICC's women's awards, announced at the end of past year. Spinner Ravichandran Ashwin had claimed the honour a year ago.

Men's Emerging Cricketer of the Year - Hasan Ali. Moreover, they were written off after losing their opening game against India but won every game after that to be reigned supreme under the inspired leadership of Sarfraz Ahmed.

More news: Facebook expands probe into whether Russian spies swung Brexit vote

Rashid Khan also took 43 wickets in ODIs - which was also a record for an Associate player. He has taken the burden of Afghanistan's hope on his shoulders at such a young age of 19. "I am so happy for 2017", said Rashid Khan. Afghanistan will make their Test debut this year and he would want to excel at the global level as well.

Marais Erasmus, for the second year in succession, was awarded the ICC Umpire of the Year. He has 60 wickets to his name for his country in 2017.

Chahal was named Player of the Match and Player of the Series for his performance - the best by an Indian bowler in T20I history, and the third-best of all time. Ever since then, he has featured in nearly all the ODIs and T20Is for his country.

More news: Dow has first close above 26000 points

Kohli was at his lethal best in the 50-over format over the a year ago or so. He averages 65.29 when his team are batting second and 93.64 when his team successfully chases down a target. In Ashes itself, Smith scored 687 runs at an average of 137.40 which drew comparisons with Don Bradman.

The Indian Cricket team had reasons to cheer when Indian captain Virat Kohli was declared ICC Cricketer of the Year for his phenomenal form across all formats. He made 15 centuries across all formats.

Iconic India batsman Sachin Tendulkar lauded captain Virat Kohli after he was named ICC Cricketer of the Year, ODI Cricketer of the Year and Captain of the Year. Quinton de Kock received the accolade for 2016, with AB de Villiers winning it in 2014 and 2015. He pipped Pakistan paceman Hasan Ali, Afghanistan leg-spinner Rashid Khan and his own teammate Rohit Sharma to be named the player of the year. Having lost the series, the onus is once again on Virat Kohli to lead the team from the front in the thrid Test match.

More news: Lamar Odom Talks About Khloe Kardashian's Pregnancy And Her Relationships

Virat Kohli named ICC world cricketer of the year