Thursday, 16 August 2018
Latest news
Main » Meghalaya Governor Awaits EC View on 17 MLAs' Disqualification

Meghalaya Governor Awaits EC View on 17 MLAs' Disqualification

22 January 2018

On Friday, the Election Commission (EC) apprised the President that the 20 MLAs were liable for disqualification for holding offices of profit between March 2015 and September 2016.

"A first reading of the Narendra Modi government appointed Election Commission's biased opinion and subsequent notification issued by the BJP's central government to hastily disqualify 20 elected Delhi MLAs shows the constitutional authorities today are behaving like handmaidens of the central government", he alleged.

Aam Aadmi Party will retain government in Delhi despite disqualification of 20 MLAs as it had won 67 seats and removing 20 will still keep them in majority.

AAP convener and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal lashed out at the opposition and tweeted, "These people lodged false cases against our party members, forced a CBI raid on me, yet they couldn't get anything of it".

More news: Mourinho's career will be defined at Man United

President Kovind gave his assent to the recommendation by the Election Commission (EC) on Saturday.

"The Delhi BJP welcomes the decision taken by the President to disqualify the 20 MLAs", Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Delhi unit President Manoj Tiwari said.

Meanwhile, in a related development, Manjinder Singh Sirsa, the MLA from Rajouri Garden seat said he will move to court to get Kejriwal disqualified for appointing the MLAs to the office of profit which led to their disqualification.

Addressing the media at Gandhi Bhavan along with Reventh Reddy, Shabbir said the six MLAs were enjoying all perks, salaries and also protocol on par with those of cabinet ministers though their appointment has been struck down by the court.

More news: Las Vegas shooting: Stephen Paddock may have targeted Southern California

Prasad had referred the matter to the Election Commission on November 16. It's an act of Centre using constitutional institutions.

Former president Pranab Mukherjee had refused to pass a bill to exempt parliamentary secretaries from the definition of office of profit.

The application by Patel said 21 AAP MLAs, including Jarnail Singh (Rajouri Garden) who resigned to contest the Punjab Assembly polls past year, were appointed Parliamentary Secretaries to ministers in the Delhi government in violation of the Constitution. "We had hoped to go to the President asking him to give us a chance to present ourselves", AAP minister Gopal Rai told ANI.

Once the Delhi Assembly Speaker declares 20 vacancies in the House, the AAP's strength will come down from 66 to 46.

More news: Police confirm release of four abducted expatriates in Kaduna

Meghalaya Governor Awaits EC View on 17 MLAs' Disqualification