Wednesday, 23 May 2018
Latest news
Main » Bihar bypolls: Voting underway for Araria Lok Sabha seat, 2 assembly seats

Bihar bypolls: Voting underway for Araria Lok Sabha seat, 2 assembly seats

12 March 2018

Reports claim that repolling may take place in Bhabhua on 23 polling booths on March 13 as EVMs were not working today. In Gorakhpur, the BJP had nominated Upendra Dutt Shukla against SP's Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel and Sureetha Kareem of the Congress.

Around 31.25 per cent voters cast their votes in the ongoing by-poll at for the Araria Lok Sabha constituency in Bihar on Sunday till 12 noon.

Official sources said here that voters are casting their votes for Araria Lok Sabha seat, Jehanabad assembly seat and Bhabhua assembly seat where by-polls were necessitated following deaths of sitting representatives.

More news: US House Speaker Ryan criticizes Trump tariff plan

The BJP has expressed confidence in winning the UP seats, especially the Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seat which was represented by Yogi Adityanath for 5 consecutive terms before he was appointed Chief Minister.

The Bihar bypolls have a special attention as Janata Dal-United (JDU) and chief minister Nitish Kumar has joined hands with the arc rivals Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and contesting against old partners RJD-Congress.

Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath was among the early voters in Gorakhpur. Also, two assembly seats Jehanabad and Bhabhua will go for byelection. The saffron party fielded Pandey's wife Rinky Rani. Former BJP parliamentarian Pradeep Kumar Singh is hoping to wrest the seat from the RJD, which has fielded Sarfaraz Alam, whose father Mohd Taslimuddin was a parliamentarian from this seat. However, a total of 14 candidates including three women are in the fray.

More news: Blockbuster: February Jobs Report 'Crushes' Expectations, GOP Policies Boosting Economy

JD (U) had initially stated that it will not contest the bye-elections but later relented at BJP's urging to contest from Jehanabad.

The Lok Sabha by-election for two constituencies of Uttar Pradesh, namely Gorakhpur and Phulpur are underway. You all may know that Mr. Alam is locked in a direct contest with the BJP's Pradip Singh who came second in the 2014 general elections but had won the seat in 2009.

Though fourteen candidates are in the fray in Jehanabad, the fight is mainly between the RJD's Kumar Krishna Mohan and JD (U)'s Abhiram Sharma, who took the seat in the 2010 assembly election.

More news: Should Daylight Saving Time be eliminated?

Bihar bypolls: Voting underway for Araria Lok Sabha seat, 2 assembly seats