Friday, 17 August 2018
Latest news
Main » PFA Player of the Year shortlist revealed

PFA Player of the Year shortlist revealed

15 April 2018

De Bruyne has been outstanding in City's march towards the Premier League title.

Kevin De Bruyne, David Silva and Leroy Sane are up for the main award, along with Tottenham's Harry Kane, Liverpool's Mohamed Salah and Manchester United's David De Gea.

The 45th annual PFA Awards, where the victor voted for by PFA members will be announced, is to be held in the Grosvenor House in London on April 22.

International Egyptian player Mohamed Salah aspires to be the second Arabic and African player to win the Premier League Player of the year after Algerian Riyad Mahrez won it in the 2015/2016 season. He tops the scoring charts with 29 goals and has added nine assists.

More news: Friday of protest in Gaza

His assists tally suggests he's not been overly selfish in front of goal and is the firm favourite to win the Golden Boot as he leads a certain Lilywhites striker by four strikes now.

Harry Kane is Tottenham's leading scorer with 24 goals, while Kevin de Bruyne, who scored seven goals and made 15 assists, has played an instrumental role in guiding City to leading the Premiere league table and to winning the League Cup title.

Kane and Salah had a phenomenal 54 Premier League goals between them heading into the weekend.

However, Salah has emerged as a real challenger to the Belgian after maintaining his outstanding form in the Premier League.

More news: Crews battling house fire south of Amarillo, drivers asked to avoid area

Ederson's teammates Raheem Sterling has a total of 16 league goal and has also contributed eight assists.

There is also a surprise inclusion in the PFA Young Player of the Year shortlist as a Championship starlet has been included with a host of Premier League superstars.

Meanwhile, Marcus Rashford has a place on the shortlist for the PFA Young Player of the Year trophy as the 20-year-old continues his excellent form for United and England.

More news: New BioShock in Development at 2K Games According to Report

PFA Player of the Year shortlist revealed